The job of the artist is always to deepen the mystery ~ Francis Bacon

Art Daily!

Today I need a riot of color.  I need color to blast away this melancholy mood. I need color to touch me deeply.  Move me.  Kiss my spirit.  I need color to vivify my world.  But I need particular colors.  Not pastels.  Not soft water colors.  I need oils and acrylics.  The thick stuff.  The textured stuff.  The stand off the canvas and scream in your face stuff.  Oils are my favorites.  I enjoy how they bring a canvas to life.  Three dimensional.  Capture light with their sheen and ridges.  Colors are important for me.  I don’t generally choose a color to match my mood, but I will choose colors to alter it if needs be.  And so this is why I have chosen this invigorating piece today.  Its angles, lengths, depth, the sense of being pulled into one direction.  How the colors are spectacular at the bottom, yet fade into somewhat more of a neutral presence as the eye reaches the pinnacle of the canvas.  It is a striking piece that has the effect of sweeping not only color into my life, but pushing shadows out too.

animal-fates-by-franz-marc

Animal Fates By Franz Marc

Leave a comment